

2011-2012 World Series of Poker Circuit Season Eight Horseshoe Casino Council Bluffs, Iowa Final Report Ring Event #5 No-Limit Hold'em Six-Handed

**Buy-In: \$350 Entries: 197** 

**Prize Pool: \$57,327** 

April 2, 3 2012

ACE IN THE HOLE

Amateur golf champion wins Event 5 at Council Bluffs. Michael Nelson records second runner-up finish and leads Casino Championship.

**Council Bluffs, IA (April 3, 2012)**—Poker's most recent champion is Jonathan Hanner. Hanner bested a 197-person field in Event#6, \$350 No-Limit Hold'em Six-Handed, at Council Bluffs and took home almost \$16,000 and his first Circuit ring.

"I'm just taking this all in," Hanner said after the victory. "This is easily my biggest tournament win. Historically I haven't done very well in anything."

Hanner, who is primarily a cash game player, has had the tournament woes for years.

"I was wondering if it would ever really happen," he said about pursuing a win. "It was hard to stay positive. I've been waiting to get hot in a tournament and it finally happened."

When he isn't playing poker, Hanner enjoys golfing and plays to a +2 handicap. In 2011 he won the Minnesota State Public Links championship. Additionally, he is in the process of pursing an education degree. He has aspirations to be a math teacher.

"I like the math aspect (of poker)," Hanner said. "I do a lot of counting the pot and bet sizing. I'm definitely very particular about that stuff. I'm not loose with the amounts I'm betting and I'm very aware of what (what my opponents) are betting."

Whatever Hanner does, he does it well -- but one can't deny his fortune nearing the end of Day 1. Hanner held pocket eights versus his opponent's pocket aces. The board of [Ax][8x][8x] basically played the hand for the players. Soon after, Mark "P0ker H0" Kroon would be eliminated in seventh place and the remaining six players would bag and come back the following day for the final table.

At the start of Day 2, the players stacked up as follows:

Seat 1	Michael Nellis	Omaha, NE	215,000
Seat 2	Mark Bonsack	Cle Elum, NE	138,500
Seat 3	Jonathan Hanner	Fridley, MN	731,500
Seat 4	Kyle Golden	Lincoln, NE	420,000
Seat 5	Lorraine Jones	Denham Springs, LA	400,000