

2010-2011 World Series of Poker Circuit Season Seven Horseshoe Hammond Event #8 No-Limit Hold'em End of Day 2 Buy-In: \$1,100 Total Entries: 227 Total Prize Pool: \$220,190 October 21, 2011

JOINING THE CLUB

2008 November Nine Participant Gets First Piece of WSOPC Hardware.

Hammond, IN (October 21, 2011)—In 2008, Dennis Phillips made a run at a WSOP gold bracelet as a member of the inaugural November Nine. He came up short, finishing third, but received a \$4.5 million consolation prize. Three years later, at Horseshoe Hammond, Phillips was on a run of different sorts and out for his first piece of WSOPC hardware.

Prior to his 2008 appearance at the Main Event final table, he recorded back-to-back WSOPC final tables and came up short both times. Last night, in Event #8 at Horseshoe Hammond, Phillips made his third WSOPC final table appearance and closed the book on his first WSOPC win, and most importantly, earned his first piece of poker hardware.

The \$1,100 buy-in drew 227 entrants and created a prizepool of \$220,190. 24 positions were paid and Phillips earned \$55,045 for his victory.

"The money may not be as big as some of the other tournaments I've been in or some of the other prizes I've won, but with this, I won the whole thing," Phillips said. "Everybody will know what this ring means. It's pretty cool."

Phillips is a 56-year-old professional poker player from St. Louis, Missouri. Prior to turning professional, Phillips was an account manager for a trucking company. He is best known for his third place finish in the 2008 WSOP Main Event where he earned better than \$4.5 million. Rarely seen without his signature red, St. Louis Cardinals cap, Phillips has been travelling the world playing the biggest games against the best players poker has to offer for three years now.

Phillips conquered a tough field in Event #8 that included 10-time WSOP casher, Kevin Saul, and twotime Circuit champion, Chris Tryba. Unfortunately, neither player finished in the money.

Day 2 began at 3 p.m. CST with 54 players remaining. By 5:30 a.m., we had a winner. The final table stacked up like this:

Final Table:

Seat 1	James Tolbert	280,000
Seat 2	Justin Gardenhire	470,000
Seat 3	Michael Johnson	300,000
Seat 4	Andrew Touchette	156,000
Seat 5	Gordon Vayo	600,000