

2011-2012 World Series of Poker Circuit Season Eight IP Casino Resort and Spa

Event #8 No-Limit Hold'em Final Report

> Buy-In: \$555 Total Entries: 174

Total Prize Pool: \$84,390 November 2-3, 2011

WHIT-WORTH THE WAIT

Greg Whitworth Defeats Bev Cheney Heads-Up for \$22,421 Payday.

Biloxi, MS (November 4, 2011) — Greg Whitworth won WSOPC Ring Event 8 at IP Casino Resort and Spa after a heads-up battle that lasted more than three hours.

Whitworth's heads-up opponent, Bev Cheney, began the duel at about a 10-to-1 chip disadvantage, but after a few double ups and a couple folds out of Whitworth, it was anybody's game. What once appeared to be a formality turned into a marathon of betting and raising between the hometown hero, Whitworth, and the fan favorite, Cheney.

The \$555 buy-in attracted 174 entrants that created a prize pool of \$84,390. The top 18 spots received money, culminating in the first-place prize of \$22,421. After twenty hours of play, it came down to two players.

The blinds and antes reached 12,000/24,000 and 4,000 and someone had to make a stand — That someone was Cheney. She moved all-in on semi-bluff with a gutshot straight draw and an overcard. Whitworth's decision was easy, as he made the call with the nuts straight. Cheney never improved and she was eliminated in second place earning \$13,856.

Whitworth, born in Bordeaux, France, is a 47-year-old seafood supplier from Biloxi, Mississippi. He calls the IP his home poker room and says it's the best managed, most player friendly poker room on the Coast. His \$22,421 payday marks his first WSOPC victory.

Notable entrants included three-time ring winners Tim Burt and Kyle Cartwright and 39-time WSOP casher, Allen Kessler. None of these players added to their resumes with a cash in Event 8.

Day 2 began at 3 p.m. with 12 players remaining and everyone guaranteed at least \$1,618. Stacks were fairly even, but Chris Conrad (255,000) held a slight edge on second place, Whitworth (243,000) to start the day. The final table was reached at about 5 p.m. CST after the elimination of three players.

Final Table:	Seat 1	James Wiggs	Springville, AL	100,000
	Seat 2	Chris Conrad	Tampa, FL	208,000
	Seat 3	Rex Clinkscales	Las Vegas, NV	90,000
	Seat 4	Thomas Cronin	St. Peters, MO	158,000
	Seat 5	Greg Whitworth	Biloxi, MS	498,000
	Seat 6	Mitch Jones	Kennesaw, GA	213,000
	Seat 7	Bev Cheney	Grandbury, TX	362,000
	Seat 8	Hoyt Lance	Ringgold, GA	178,000